AWCheney’s Forum On Immigration

Recent Commenters Should Be Aware…

There was a period of time recently when I was not checking the site on a daily basis. During two or three days of that period I was hit by an enormous amount of spam…pages and pages of it. Not having experienced that before, I thought I could go through it page by page and delete as I went…that was not the case. When I hit the “delete” after reviewing the first page, it ALL got deleted and I had no way of bringing it back.

I have, on occasion, successfully rescued legitimate comments from the spam filter and am very concerned that I may have deleted some when I hit that delete button. If your comment was, indeed, deleted I sincerely apologize and invite you to come back and repeat it or, at the very least, chastise me for my carelessness…I deserve it. It shouldn’t happen again as I have resolved to check my spam content on the minimum of a daily basis. Once a comment is approved, the spam filter “learns” and you should have no further problems.

Again, my sincerest apologies.

Anke Cheney

September 10, 2008 3:21 am - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Naughty Anke….:)

    Comment by freedom | September 14, 2008 7:07 am | Reply

  2. Hopefully, YOU will get more readers if they can find their way out of denial and WAKE UP! CHEERS!
    COLLECTIVELY, we win. DIVIDED we FALL!

    Comment by Red Dawn | September 15, 2008 6:59 pm | Reply

  3. Yeah Red Dawn, and hopefully I can find the time and energy to do more of those heavily researched posts that seem to attract so many spammers…at least they find them interesting.

    I hope you realize how much I appreciate the fact that you and freedom comment here regularly. As long as I know SOMEONE with some sense is watching, that’s at least enough incentive to keep me trying. I will NOT, however, be pressured by people like that Leila over at Anti-BVBL to start throwing out incendiary posts and allowing incendiary language just to please those who seem to believe that facts are irrelevant in the blogesphere!

    Comment by AWCheney | September 16, 2008 3:30 am | Reply

  4. AW, do you moderate your blog? I do because it helps avoid SPAM and other posters who are there to just cuss me out. Once in awhile, someone slips in an ad link but other than that, I don’t get the SPAM. Just a thought.

    Comment by kgotthardt | September 24, 2008 9:19 am | Reply

  5. I do not moderate my blog kgotthardt, unless someone breaks the rules which are clearly posted to the right. I do, however, have a spam filter which I try to check as often as possible to make sure a legitimate comment was not inadvertently caught up in it…which is what I was afraid might have happened when I prematurely deleted those 18 pages of spam I referenced above.

    Comment by AWCheney | September 24, 2008 9:52 am | Reply


Leave a comment