AWCheney’s Forum On Immigration

Open Discussion

I’ve put out a great deal of information over the past three weeks…and I’m having some computer difficulties again with my technical expert currently unavailable. It occurred to me that this might be a good time for readers to catch up on all this information (most of which ties together), and perhaps use it to do some of their own research, then come back here and do some brainstorming. Call it an open thread, open discussion, or whatever…it could prove interesting.

[UPDATE: I had intended to get a new post out today (actually, I should say “yesterday”), however, circumstances made that impossible. I hope to have one out, properly researched, by end of day (the 21st). This open discussion is definitely not getting a lot of interest, probably because everyone is looking for new information which takes a LOT of time to put together, so I also needed a break. By the way, if anyone has any suggestions for future posts I’m quite open to them.]

July 18, 2008 7:11 pm - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Well, since no one else wants to start, I will. Rebelreggie had an excellent comment on the previous thread (North American Union, Part 3, Comment by rebelreggie | July 19, 2008 8:15 am). We were definitely in stage 5 in the decade(s) prior to the advent of the new century, entering stage 6 in the years immediately prior, where it should be obvious that we have become firmly entrenched in complacency. Should we decide as a society that there is nothing that we can do about what is happening, apathy is not far behind…and it can only go downhill from there.

    It is clearly a time for reason and action, not complacency and apathy. We have allowed ourselves to be played far too long by our politicians, and it’s time to call a halt. Plato said, “The price of apathy towards public affairs is to be ruled by evil men.” I don’t know about you, but as far as I’m concerned enough is enough!

    Comment by AWCheney | July 19, 2008 9:43 am | Reply

  2. I completely agree,

    we have become a bit too complacent. I think the EU is doing things quite swimmingly thus far. I recently returned from a trip over to europe and it’s definitely noticeable, especially in Germany. Everyone seems to live so well together and although tolerance is the rule, the rule of law is well alive there. It’s really amazing to see countries that have standards and enforce them, the citizens are much more comfortable regardless of race or religion.

    Comment by josh | July 20, 2008 7:30 pm | Reply

  3. Read my post and watch the videos on the EU Josh…they are NOT doing swimmingly thus far! If what they have is in our future, I don’t want it.

    We are headed toward an EU-type arrangement right here in the U.S. and it does not work “swimmingly,” assuming you care about your personal freedom and livelihood: EU taxes are added to already existing taxes ON EVERYTHING (gas in England is more than DOUBLE what we pay here with all the value-added taxes); people can now be arrested without warrant, held without benefit of writ of habeas corpus (meaning without charge for 9 months), and are denied trial by jury; those countries which have accepted the EU central banking system and the Euro as their domestic currency have turned over all their gold and silver, as well as total control of their financial system (i.e. interest rates) to the EU Central Bank, effectively eliminating the possibility of EVER going back; laws are created by commissions, in secret and whose members are NOT elected, and then imposed upon all EU member nations…which are now called states; the EU has a “police force” for “peace keeping” purposes, not defensive purposes. The list goes on and on, and is very costly…which is added to the already existing taxes of the member states.

    If the Treaty of Lisbon goes into effect, these powers of the EU will be expanded and irrevocable, and enforced by the “peace keeping” force. Do you honestly envy the evolution of a totalitarian state where only a relative handful of people have any voice whatsoever? I sure don’t…the very idea scares me to death.

    Comment by AWCheney | July 21, 2008 12:11 am | Reply

  4. you are correct, you went a bit deeper than I did. From the people side of the house they seem pretty happy from what I saw. Could be all smoke and mirrors, but I go there an awful lot and it’s always the same, alas I dont really look into governmental affairs. Never really agreed with the EURO to begin with, it made an already complicated affair of dealing with european currency even more complicated (rather than less so)

    I’m not too keen on the police state type of thing, I would rather the individual countries police themselves, they have been doing a good job so far.

    Comment by josh | July 21, 2008 11:14 am | Reply

  5. Anke,

    I received your e-mail, thank you! I’d appreciate a spot on your blogroll as well 🙂 I was a little shy to ask.

    Again, thank you!

    Comment by Belle Hertanez | September 16, 2008 8:33 pm | Reply


Leave a Reply

